Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons

Apex Pro Irons

A High Tech Forged Players Iron Conventional wisdom has been that you cant have extreme radical performance in a forged iron. Conventional wisdom couldnt be more wrong. Behold X HOT distance in a forged iron. Premium Forged Construction 1020 Carbon Steel forging engineered to deliver a soft and responsive feel that the best players in the world demand Tungsten Weighted Inserts Tungsten weighted inserts in the sole of the long irons make them incredibly easy to hit and deliver Tour type launch conditions High Performance Wide Grooves New high performance wide spaced groove is designed for more control and consistent spin out of a variety of playing conditions New KBS Tour V Shaft New premium shaft offering maximizes energy transfer for a smooth feel and faster ball speeds Delivers mid trajectory piercing flight Notes UST Recoil available through customs. Tungsten sole found only in 2-5 irons.
Overall rating:
4.78 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
78 out of 8098%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons
Review 1 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Irons!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
RLC
fromNewton, NC
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got them with Recoil Graphite, easy on elbows and shoulders but retain that smooth forged club feel.. Customized to 2 up spec, delivered as requested. Could not be more pleased, this set replaces my Razr Xtours with PX 6.0 which have been great irons...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great looks great feel pure ball flight cannot get any better than that

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
johnny m
fromToronto, ON, Canada
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
its winter up here cannot play on turf till feb 1 in florida but in the simulator the irons feel great look great and great ball flight may be the best irons I have ever owned
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irons

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Al
fromHeath, texas
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these irons in almost all ways. Custom fit at Cool Clubs, the irons have been the best set of irons I have owned for accuracy, feel and distance control. Only issue is finish. They show wear and use faster than most.
What I likeSolid
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Cdub
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great set of irons!!! Accurate, forgiving, and long!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Apex Pro irons with the Recoil shafts give an incredibly soft feel!

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Reitred Florida Golfer
fromFort Myers, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have only played a few rounds with the Apex Pro irons with the Recoil stiff shafts (F4). The iron and shaft combination give an incredibly soft feel. I am working on some swing changes personally, so I cannot give a reliable review of any distance expectations. They seem like they may be a little short, but that could change as my swing changes.
What I likeincredibly soft
What I don't likepossibly a little short
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great look, easy to work

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Whitey
fromWrightsville, PA 17368, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these clubs after a friend had purchased the Apex Irons. Was sold on the pro's at demo day. The ball jumps off these irons. Had to adjust as center contact added 10 to 12 yards to the distances. Offcenter hits stayed closer to line with distance being equal to previous yardages.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feel of forged with a litle help

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
teknodoc
fromWarnr Robins, Georgia
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have played blades, (Mizuno) and moved to Callaway X-forged 2007 models and have never found anything that I liked as well until now. These feel like they glide through the ball, you get feedback on where it's hit, and a little help on a mishit. For me the perfect combination. After trying, virtually everything, and buying with my own money 4 other game improvement sets, these are better than all of them - Titleist AP1, Taylormade Burner 2.0, Adams CB3 Forged and Callaway X2Hot Pro.
Bottom Line:
These are the best clubs I have hit in years. Get them and learn to be a better ball striker.
What I likesuper feel, Great feedback, a little help on off center hits, Look Great
What I don't likenone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Tallboy
fromKentucky
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best feeling irons(with consistent accuracy)
Of any irons used in last 20 years.
What I likefeel, Consistent, look at setup
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Bubblehead
fromatl ga
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice feel soft but not too soft. great look at address.easy to work but would still be usable for mid to medium high handicappers. no distance gain for me most likely because I am a long hitter anyway, do however seem to be helping with accuracy.
I am waiting on Callaway to increase there line of tour grind wedges for us lefties. would love to have 50, 54, 58 degree available in left handed versions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Callaway forges ahead

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Cruzer
fromStorrs, Mansfield, CT, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I traded in my Callaway Razor Forged for these. I like the feel, even on slight mis-hits. The KBS shaft gives it a great balance with a nice high trajectory. Distance is longer than the Razor Forged. The carbon steel has a nice satin look to it. The grooves are easier to clean than the Razor Forged. It's a little annoying that the face seems easily marked and scruffed.
What I likefeel and distance.
What I don't likealittle pricey and face shows marks easily.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Golf Club

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
TJ
fromSac, Calif
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first thing that impressed me about this club is the ball flight. It is more like a launch than a hit. I find myself just standing there just watching the ball glide through the air. I started with the DG S300 shaft per my fitting. We felt the trajectory was too high with the KBS Tour V.
But Im pushing 60 and after about an hour of swinging, the DG S300 started to feel a little heavy.They are only 10 grams heavier than the KBS but the KBS felt much lighter and easier to swing. I went with the KBS. On the course I found the high ball flight to be a non issue. It is still penetrating even in a light headwind.
As is the case with all "soft" forged clubs , these will ding and scratch easily. I bought a couple sets(pretty sure I'll loose some ) of inexpensive covers in an effort to preserve the great looks of these clubs.
What I likegreat performance, Great Feel, Good Looks
What I don't likeding and scratch easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Clubs

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
2hdcp
fromTexas, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice irons for the better player. Shipped quick, and where in great shape. My only issue was that the 7-PW were 1* to 1.5* upright. They were supposed to be standard.
What I likesmall head and forged
What I don't likelies were messed up on mine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Added 1 club length and increased accuracy.

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer avatar
MDOCEAN
fromIllinois, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been playing the Apex with steel shafts early in the summer. I improved with those so I thought I would try the Pros. There is a little difference in the fell and the look is definitely more that of a blade. Very happy with these. Solid feel, excellent sound of the ball off the club face. The ball really flies and stops on a dime. This is the first time I have achieved that kind of control.
What I likeLook and feel
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great iron for tempo

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
campijim
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have been using X-Forged irons for several seasons and find the Apex Pro a great addition to my bag. They seem a bit lighter in the grip and have really helped me to maintain a smooth tempo through the stroke.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irons!

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Jack Tors
fromNew York, NY, USA
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been playing Mizuno JPX-800 Pros and was looking to switch to heavier shafts when the club fitter suggested that I try the Apex Pros. It was love at first hit! My Mizunos were great but it was interesting that I hit the Apex Pros better than several different new Mizuno models. Mizuno irons are renown for their buttery feel with pure strikes and I think that of all the major manufacturers, only Callaway attains that standard.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Apex Pro Iron's

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Omi7000
fromCharlotte, NC, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Apex pro's has to be one of the best set of irons Callaway has ever produced. They have managed to combined, workability, feel, and distance. I went with DG Pro shafts, the KBS Tour V 110 are awesome as well, i just had better numbers with the DG Pro's s300 shafts.
Cons: My only complaint is the satin finish they did. I had read the reviews in advance, and did hear some complaints about this. I specifically bought an Ogio Chamber bag (great bag btw!) for it.. and i found them easy to scratch still.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Clubs! Don't Hesitate

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Zshin
fromSavannah, GA, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using a set of Nike clubs for a while and switched over to these. The feel is completely different and I thought I would swear by Nike the my entire golf career. I will never use another iron other than Callaway. These irons will be in my bag for years to come and whenever I do get a new set it will definitely be another set of Callaway's.
What I likeGreat Feel, high long flight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Irons, Horrible Finish

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Ago33
fromMilwaukee
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I came from a set of Mizuno players irons and these just flat out blow these out of the water. I have never had so many short birdie puts in my entire life. They have an incredibly tight dispersion, great distance (+5% distance off of my mizunos) and most misses are still on the green and out of trouble.
I am a high ball hitter and these keep my ball flight down.
The only negative is the finish on them. Its absolutely terrible. My clubs I played for half a season and look like they are 5 years old. They grooves are still good so I am confused. I heard others were having this issue as well.
These would be the perfect players if this was fixed
What I likeAccuracy, Distance, dispersion, short birdie putts
What I don't likeFinish, Durability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Irons!

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
DietRich09
fromFlorence, SC
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These clubs are awesome. I'm currently playing on the NGA TOUR with little success due to inaccurate iron shots. Since switching to these irons I have picked up an extra 5 yards and cut my dispersion down by 7 yards. For anyone in the market for great irons, don't pass these up!
What I likeConsistent
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great performance, terrible wear

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
drumcat
fromIrving, TX, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:13-20
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I must have received an early set. It's really shocking that after 6 months, the heads look 6 years old. I'm the first person to say that clubs are tools, not jewels, but the finish is poor at best.
They perform fine (for now), but at some point, the pinpoints of rust are going to get bigger, and the finish isn't protecting them in the way you would expect any other iron.
What I liketechnology, Soft, Performance
What I don't likeFinish, wear, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>