Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons

Apex Pro Irons

A High Tech Forged Players Iron Conventional wisdom has been that you cant have extreme radical performance in a forged iron. Conventional wisdom couldnt be more wrong. Behold X HOT distance in a forged iron. Premium Forged Construction 1020 Carbon Steel forging engineered to deliver a soft and responsive feel that the best players in the world demand Tungsten Weighted Inserts Tungsten weighted inserts in the sole of the long irons make them incredibly easy to hit and deliver Tour type launch conditions High Performance Wide Grooves New high performance wide spaced groove is designed for more control and consistent spin out of a variety of playing conditions New KBS Tour V Shaft New premium shaft offering maximizes energy transfer for a smooth feel and faster ball speeds Delivers mid trajectory piercing flight Notes UST Recoil available through customs. Tungsten sole found only in 2-5 irons.
Overall rating:
4.797 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
56 out of 5798%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons
Review 1 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best clubs I've ever hit

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hit every club thats a comparison to these like Titleist ap2 irons and the felt far superior. They feel and sound great. Shape any shot that is needed. I couldn't play any better with another set of irons.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Superb easy to hit players iron but does show signs of use very quickly.

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Mr T
fromSalisbury, UK
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Excellent value as I brought these Apex Pro irons in 'like new' condition but when they arrived they were all sealed up, not any of them had been opened and never been hit.
Brought them from the UK as even with the duties they worked out a lot cheaper plus they arrived within 48 hours !
Having owned a lot of Callaway irons I must say that the preformance of these are superb, long yet the most forgiving by far for a players iron. The only down side is that they do mark very easily & the finish seems to wear off which is a shame for such a top quality set of irons.
Beware of this but I think the preformance of these irons means you can live with the slightly poor finish.
Ordered with the Nippon Modus 3 130 stiff shafts which are as good as people say plus the irons also had the Golf Pride Multi Compound Red / Black grips fitted which made them even better value as in the UK an expensive upgrade.
Many thanks Callaway Preowned Golf as a great service provided.
What I likeForgiving
What I don't likeFinish
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid club, easy to get used to

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike
fromOregon
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Since I didn't have a chance to see these in LH prior to my purchase, my initial take was the the head size was smaller than I expected. but with a nice square upright look. In use, really haven't seen any problems with the size - maybe a bigger head would be more forgiving but then you might lose that square look at address.
Have had many sets of forged irons. These are different. Not as soft feeling as some earlier Callaway irons but a nice crunchy solid sound and feel when you hit them right. These will stay in my bag.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Irons

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Roger
fromFlorida, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid feel, Workable, Ball jumps off head, Great look. Just all around great set of irons.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW...Simply WOW

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Went to get fitted for a set of clubs. Never thought of Callaway irons, as I have been a long time Titleist fan. Hit them both on the range and on a launch monitor. Lets just say I am looking to sell my set of Titleist MB 712's. These clubs are longer, more forgiving, and just as easy to work and flight.
What I likeeasy to work, easy to flight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For better players

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Colorado Mike
fromArvada, CO, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These clubs were beautiful I just couldn't hit them. I decided to go with the Apex irons and they have worked out great for me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a very solid set of golf clubs.

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Bob D
fromEast Providence, RI, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Callaway Apex Pro Irons are a great set of golf clubs. They are easy to hit for me, very solid feeling at impact and the distance is great.
What I likevery solid and easy to hit
What I don't likeExpensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best iron heads in the business.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
train2cri
fromHouston, TX, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these and had Callaway repair replace the shafts with the graphite shafts that Ive been using for several years: M751.
This is a great iron head.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful club, but lacks forgiviness

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer avatar
JK
fromIL
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice looking and accurate, less forgiving while sacrificing distancejk
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smaller head design, but forgiving, lots of technology in these clubs

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
SD
fromSan Antonio, TX, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went into a golf shop wanting to try three sets of irons, tm tour preferred cm, ap2 714, and tm sldr. I hit the ap2, then tried the tm tp cm, the tm felt a whole lot better. I never tried out the sldr's, the pro at the shop asked me to try out the apex pro's. He said he didn't get payed anymore to promote callaway, but that the apex pro's were a must hit iron. So I figured why not. Let me just say, Callaway hit a grand slam with these irons. Long, soft and straight. Not to mention they come stock with a kbs tour v shaft. I would have to have paid for an upgrade on the 714's for this shaft. Price is a bit high but well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Foe the low handicap player

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Boogie
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Annually
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the looks of this club but it was not for me. I have not played for 2 to 3 years and trying to get back in the swing again. This was just too much club for me right now.
What I likegreat fell when hit in dead center
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best irons I've owned so far.

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Diesel
fromHouston
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really like the Apex Pro irons. Went through a fitting and hit a lot of different irons and these were the best for me. Professional service and very happy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set of irons!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Al
fromMississauga, ON, Canada
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The combination of these irons and recoil shafts is just great. The clubs look good and feel amazing, not as harsh as other similar clubs I've tried in the same category. Golf balls just jump off the face and get great distance, but have also been very accurate as well. Only way I could be happier is if the finish stood up a bit better to bag chatter, but the performance far outweighs a few minor scuffs.
What I likeLooks, feel, Distance, Accuracy
What I don't likedurability of finish
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Holy cow

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeff45
fromWestland MI
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the forged blades from 7 years ago hit the apex pros and thought there wasn't to much of a difference. I hit at the casino got fitted for these irons last week and they came in today. I ran out to the course with these fitted apex pros and was in shock!!! Unbelievable long and I hit a couple off the toe and thought I was way short and right,ended up on the right side of the green almost pin high unreal. I was hitting greens all day the first round it's gonna be a fun year. I am hitting one club less on every hole, hit 5 iron about 200 of the tee on some short par threes. The best part is they feel awesome,pure shots feel like nothing and when you hit them bad the outcome wasn't as bad as I thought. The price is tough to get around but today they were worth every penny.
What I likelong forgiving
What I don't likePrice
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best irons available!!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
golffanaticinAR
fromFort Smith, AR, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Went to buy a different set of irons the day I bought these and I took a few swings with a 7 iron demo just for giggles…. LOL A player I know was there on the range who already had a set of Apex Pros and I wound up swinging every iron in his bag in pure amazement. Every time you stand over the ball with these irons you just KNOW you are gonna pure it and time and time again you do. These irons are awesome to play with!!! Feel is unmatched. No other iron is even remotely close to what Callaway has accomplished with these. If you care about the score you card at the end of your round…..you should be playing these irons. Also, if your goal is simply to enjoy the golf you play….. you STILL should be playing these irons because they help keep golf fun!! Nothing like that solid SMACK! when the ball meets the face…..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Iron. Easy to hit.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Easiest to hit 5 iron I've owned. Soft feel, nice trajectory. I don't have to work hard at getting it up in the air. Mishits are forgiving. This can be said for he entire set of Apex Pro irons. Best irons I've used. By a lot. I owned a set of Hogan Apex irons for many years. These have better feel and are far more forgiving on mishits. I picked up a half club to club in distance. KBS Tour V Shafts - Stiff. Highly recommended.
What I likesoft forgiving accurate long
What I don't likeloft should be stamped on the hosel.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sexy Irons

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer avatar
tvans7
fromCanton, OH, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Nice sexy look. Great feel. Soft contact on the ball. Awesome distance. Feels great in the hands. Outstanding irons!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Irons I Have Ever Played

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Ryan76
fromKaysville, UT, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have played golf since I was 10 years old. Since college, I have been a Mizuno loyalist. These irons changed all that. I recently demoed these along with the new Titleist AP2 714 irons and Mizuno MP 54 irons. The Callaways are truly the purest feeling irons I have ever played, and surprisingly forgiving for a players iron. The forged metal creates a soft feel at impact, yet the ball explodes off the face when hit pure. I truly can't say enough good things about these irons. First time using them, I played my best round of the season. If you are a decent player - scratch to a 12 handicap, go try these irons. I have no doubt your scores will improve. Plus, they are the best looking irons I have ever seen and give you a ton of confidence as you stand over the ball. Callaway has set a new standard with the Apex Pros!
What I likesoft and pure feel, Beautiful look, amazing distance
What I don't likescuffs easy not very durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Irons - I needed these irons 3 years ago

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Tom
fromOlive Branch, MS, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish these irons were avaiable 3 years ago, they are long, and you can work the ball in either direction. Great shaft KBS V Tour. I got PW to 6 Iron in the Apex Pro model and a 5 iron Apex, all with the same shaft, check out KBS web site, I am 55 years old/young and rated into the X Flex an was the smartest move I could make, right at a FM 6.1ish and that is what I needed. Perfect, absolutely perfect.
What I likeeverything
What I don't likeNothing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing design and engineering.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Smiggs84
fromNew York
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Club looks great at address. Feels solid and soft. Great ball flight and playability.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>