Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons

Apex Pro Irons

A High Tech Forged Players Iron Conventional wisdom has been that you cant have extreme radical performance in a forged iron. Conventional wisdom couldnt be more wrong. Behold X HOT distance in a forged iron. Premium Forged Construction 1020 Carbon Steel forging engineered to deliver a soft and responsive feel that the best players in the world demand Tungsten Weighted Inserts Tungsten weighted inserts in the sole of the long irons make them incredibly easy to hit and deliver Tour type launch conditions High Performance Wide Grooves New high performance wide spaced groove is designed for more control and consistent spin out of a variety of playing conditions New KBS Tour V Shaft New premium shaft offering maximizes energy transfer for a smooth feel and faster ball speeds Delivers mid trajectory piercing flight Notes UST Recoil available through customs. Tungsten sole found only in 2-5 irons.
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
97 out of 10196%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons
Review 1 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Game changer for me

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Roy9
fromBoston, MA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently purchased the Apex Pro's 4 through PW, and the regular Apex for my 3 iron (I like hitting long irons on tight fairways). I had been playing Hogan Apex Pro's forever, and every time I purchased a new set of irons, I ended up returning them...mostly because I found it difficult to control distances with the newer technology - even though I knew I was sacrificing forgiveness. But the Apex Pro's are perfect for me. Distance control is superb, and forgiveness is incredible (at least, compared to my old Hogans!). You know when you make a bad swing (feedback is there), but the result is not that penal...so it keeps you in the hole. I have been a 4 - 5 index for a long time, and felt I had plateaued, but 1 month after putting the Apex Pro's in the bag I shot my first 2 under par rounds of my life, and my index is now in the 2 - 3 range. Can't say enough about these clubs.
The ONLY negative is that the elastomer insert on my 9-iron popped out somehow (maybe just rattling around in my bag). Fortunately, I found the insert, and was able to put it back with a dab of crazy glue. Hasn't been any issue since.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've played professional level golf for 65 years and these are FAR and AWAY the BEST (in every way) irons (w/ reflex graph) I've ever played !!!!!!!

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
g
fromcanton texas
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will use these same irons until I am no longer able to play anymore, which means I will have died....
What I likeeverything
What I don't likeZero cons
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looks and explosive distance

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Joey64
fromConcord Virginia
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Longest irons I have ever hit. I am least 10 to 15 yards longer than my previous set. Hardest thing now is learning my distances over again. The ball seems to jump off the club face. Anyone looking fr soft feel off the face and explosive distance get these irons. I ha no intentions of switching
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the the best Irons I have played.

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Callaplay
fromSweden
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally I got back my confidence and starting to hitting Greens again!. These Irons are like Arrows. Boring flight with consistent length. The KBS Tour V 110 S stock shaft fits me as a Glove. Great balance between weight and swing speed increase. Surprisingly forgiving for the category. Just order an additional 50 degree Gap Wedge...
My Mizuno MP-52 feels softer but are now at the bench.
Good work Callaway!
What I likeconsistent length, forgiving fore the category
What I don't likesome time flyers from the ruff, durability. finish wear of fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best irons I ever hit.

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best irons in terms of look and feel I ever hit. I am a low handicap golfer and I have added 10 yards to each iron with these. The only downside is the nick and wear quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best look and feel of any players Iron

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Brian13
fromBedford,TX
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apex Pros have completely changed my game I was able to take a hybrid out of my bag since the 4 iron gave me the same distance, flight and a better feel. I'm not 100% sure if they play better on miss hits or if I'm actually hitting better shots but these irons have given me a new world of confidence with my game! I can say anyone not playing these beauties are missing out on a better game
What I likefeel, Distance
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Most disappointing Callaway product I have purchased

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
OleHack
fromLake Arrowhead, CA, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:21-28
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
By way of disclosure I am currently a 22 handicap recovering from some physical set backs. A once upon a time a single digit. For the majority of my golfing career I used forged blades. Was using Callaway X-Hot irons and loved them except had trouble shaping the ball. Saw the Apex Pro irons as the best of both worlds, control, feel and distance. The first disappointment was the feel. Mind you my pure hits are rare now a days but when they did occur felt nothing like a forged blade. The impact felt dead? To be 100% accurate the X Hots felt closer to a forged blade hit than these did. The second disappointment was the length. They were much shorter than the X-Hots and shorter than my blades. The latter really surprised especially since these were 1/2" longer. Lastly when I attempted to shape the ball, they were no better than the X Hots. On the good side it is a totally great looking club, extremely well made.
What I likeGreat Looking, Well made
What I don't likedid not feel like a blade, lacked the distance of an x-hot, could not shape the ball as hoped for
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer avatar
tedd3
fromFenton
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought a set with 95 gram recoil, regular flex shafts for my 18 year old daughter (college player / 2 hndcp ). Track man fitted, 13 yrs longer with 7 iron. Smoked field, first day out!
What I don't like$60 up charge for shafts., not available in 95 gram stiff shafts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very very happy

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Austin
fromSalt lake city
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a 9 handicap and for past 3 years have been playing razor x tours (great irons) but like so many of us get to the point that most golfers get to am I ready for big boy clubs? I'm not gonna lie these clubs are a different world out there as far as forgiveness but learning slowly how to hit the apex pros correctly as been unreal! I love these irons the confidence I have got week to week with these irons is sky high! If your game has got to that point. When your ready take these irons on your journey
What I likeaccurate confidence
What I don't likea lil disappointed in finish wear and tear
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good look, good results throughout the lofts

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer avatar
golfmaster
fromSouth Florida
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:13-20
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful clubs, good weight, easy setup and your off (not offline). 5 iron - A wedge are more forgiving than most players irons yet still allow spin control and shot shaping. I'm thinking of adding the 3 and 4 irons to my bag.
What I likeBeautiful clubs
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A great club - but not for me...

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Dennis
fromWest Palm Beach, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Accuracy 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Feel 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Distance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sorry for my personal bias. My expectations of the particular Apex iron were a little higher than realized.
The club didn't seem to have the heft or 'substance' I was looking for. It struck me as particularly light compared to what I'm used to.
Sorry...I returned it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive design

PostedApril 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Stav2nd
fromBoca Raton, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful response when struck even in off center hits, but when stuck in the middle the ball reacts accordingly.
What I likesleek look
What I don't likehard to change into next apex models
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent irons

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Jaadams101
fromIndiana, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I switched from X Tour forged to these. No words can describe how much better these clubs are. I hit the ball higher than anyone I've ever met and these have helped me control my distance much more.
What I likeCarry Distance
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best feel of all irons on the market.

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMadison, WI
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great feel off the face, a soft click. Higher ball flight than my old set. Great lightweight KBS shaft gives you more feel with the club head. Larger gap between clubs than my old set - 15 yard gaps with the apex pros vs 10 yard gaps with my old set. Gave me progressively more distance on 6-4 irons with the 4-iron going 20yards farther than my previous. Shorter irons didn't gain any distance but feel/ball flight improved dramatically.
Great overall irons with a great feel.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Sorry Titleist

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer avatar
mikimi10
fromBoise, ID, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought I would never part with my 712 combo set (#4 AP2, 5-6 CB, 7-P MB) with C-Taper shafts, but after spending a couple of hours in the shop on the monitor then 4 times on the course I am officially a "Callaway Convert". The main factors that made me want to switch was the increased distance, repeatable distance control and ease of workability. I thought I was just getting old and settled for the distance that my Titleist's gave me but after playing with the Apex Pro with the KBS Tour V's I felt like a young guy again. I did just turn 55 but I'm punching my 5 iron out to 200 yards again without having to grunt. With my Titleist CB712, I was content with 185 and it was a struggle to reproduce that time after time. I don't get to practice as much as I did in the past but even though it was only the 3rd through 7th time on the course I dropped an average of 4.5 shots/round. Approach shots were dead on once I established distance for my irons. I became so excited to hit a mid to short iron because of the confidence these new Apex irons instilled in me. Also , I wasn't afraid to hit a long iron either of the turf or from a tee on a long par-3. In fact, I actually put my 910 hybrids away and now I play the 3 and 4 Apex irons because the dispersion and distance control is better than with the hybrids. At least I still have my 3 Vokey SM5's in my bag that will never leave (at least not until the SM6's comes out). Also if your going to compare them to the AP2's, don't, it's a waste of time. The Apex Pro has it beat in all categories except for finish durability. On the monitor the AP2's were at least 10 to 12 yards shorter across the board and didn't even feel anywhere as soft and sweet as the Apex Pro's. I wanted so badly for the AP2 714's to work for me because I love Titleist. But like I said, I will always have my Vokey's and my Pro V1X's in my bag. I am a 6 handicapper and hopefully I can improve on that now. If you try them I'm pretty sure you'll like them. As for me, I love them and can't wait to play my next round. Tomorrow just does't come fast enough.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great forged feel

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer avatar
parshooter72
fromcelina, tn.
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
went from apex to apex pro with no problem for a mid handicapper I am impressed
What I likefeel
What I don't likeproject x shaft a bit heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Vision 54
fromPortland, OR, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As long as I've been playing golf, I've considered myself a purest. I learned how to play golf with blades and have been playing with blades irons for 37 years. My current iron set, Mizuno MP33 which I've had for 13 years is an excellent set. It's served me well and will continue to do so. Excellent feel, quality, workable, and aesthetically beautiful set. The past 3 years, I've been on a search to find a set that will join the ranks of my MP's. I've looked at Titleist, Ping, Taylor Made, Callaway, Cleveland and of course Mizuno. After testing and waiting and testing waiting, I finally pulled the trigger and decided to buy my very first set of Callaway ever. These Apex Pro's with KBS Tour V shaft are awesome. Everything that I love about my Mizuno, the Apex Pro offered and then some. Very forgiving on miss hits, very soft feel and workable. The trajectory and spin are ideal and seem controlled. I've gained approximately 22 yards per club and with a very tight dispersion pattern.
I thought I'd never find an iron set that is as good as my Mizuno MP's, but I was blown away. Because I love these irons so much, I'm actually thinking about buying a second set as a backup.
Way to go Callaway!
What I likeaesthetically pleasing!, awesome feel!, high performance
What I don't likenot too crazy about the finish
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Wedge

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Bo-v
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Club looked great on arrival. Looks great on setup. The shaft in the club is still suspect. Not as much feel as I like.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great fee

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Justin
Accuracy 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love them. glad that I made this purchase. would recommend it everyone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks like a blade, feels like butter

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Rustyspkes
fromGoodyear, AZ, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the 4-GW w/recoil 110 s flex shafts. Love them; no loss of feedback, feel or distance. Almost too good to be true!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>