Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons

Apex Pro Irons

A High Tech Forged Players Iron Conventional wisdom has been that you cant have extreme radical performance in a forged iron. Conventional wisdom couldnt be more wrong. Behold X HOT distance in a forged iron. Premium Forged Construction 1020 Carbon Steel forging engineered to deliver a soft and responsive feel that the best players in the world demand Tungsten Weighted Inserts Tungsten weighted inserts in the sole of the long irons make them incredibly easy to hit and deliver Tour type launch conditions High Performance Wide Grooves New high performance wide spaced groove is designed for more control and consistent spin out of a variety of playing conditions New KBS Tour V Shaft New premium shaft offering maximizes energy transfer for a smooth feel and faster ball speeds Delivers mid trajectory piercing flight Notes UST Recoil available through customs. Tungsten sole found only in 2-5 irons.
Overall rating:
4.776 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
72 out of 7497%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons
Review 1 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feel of forged with a litle help

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
teknodoc
fromWarnr Robins, Georgia
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have played blades, (Mizuno) and moved to Callaway X-forged 2007 models and have never found anything that I liked as well until now. These feel like they glide through the ball, you get feedback on where it's hit, and a little help on a mishit. For me the perfect combination. After trying, virtually everything, and buying with my own money 4 other game improvement sets, these are better than all of them - Titleist AP1, Taylormade Burner 2.0, Adams CB3 Forged and Callaway X2Hot Pro.
Bottom Line:
These are the best clubs I have hit in years. Get them and learn to be a better ball striker.
What I likesuper feel, Great feedback, a little help on off center hits, Look Great
What I don't likenone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Tallboy
fromKentucky
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best feeling irons(with consistent accuracy)
Of any irons used in last 20 years.
What I likefeel, Consistent, look at setup
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Bubblehead
fromatl ga
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice feel soft but not too soft. great look at address.easy to work but would still be usable for mid to medium high handicappers. no distance gain for me most likely because I am a long hitter anyway, do however seem to be helping with accuracy.
I am waiting on Callaway to increase there line of tour grind wedges for us lefties. would love to have 50, 54, 58 degree available in left handed versions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Callaway forges ahead

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Cruzer
fromStorrs, Mansfield, CT, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I traded in my Callaway Razor Forged for these. I like the feel, even on slight mis-hits. The KBS shaft gives it a great balance with a nice high trajectory. Distance is longer than the Razor Forged. The carbon steel has a nice satin look to it. The grooves are easier to clean than the Razor Forged. It's a little annoying that the face seems easily marked and scruffed.
What I likefeel and distance.
What I don't likealittle pricey and face shows marks easily.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Golf Club

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
TJ
fromSac, Calif
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first thing that impressed me about this club is the ball flight. It is more like a launch than a hit. I find myself just standing there just watching the ball glide through the air. I started with the DG S300 shaft per my fitting. We felt the trajectory was too high with the KBS Tour V.
But Im pushing 60 and after about an hour of swinging, the DG S300 started to feel a little heavy.They are only 10 grams heavier than the KBS but the KBS felt much lighter and easier to swing. I went with the KBS. On the course I found the high ball flight to be a non issue. It is still penetrating even in a light headwind.
As is the case with all "soft" forged clubs , these will ding and scratch easily. I bought a couple sets(pretty sure I'll loose some ) of inexpensive covers in an effort to preserve the great looks of these clubs.
What I likegreat performance, Great Feel, Good Looks
What I don't likeding and scratch easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Clubs

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
2hdcp
fromTexas, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice irons for the better player. Shipped quick, and where in great shape. My only issue was that the 7-PW were 1* to 1.5* upright. They were supposed to be standard.
What I likesmall head and forged
What I don't likelies were messed up on mine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Added 1 club length and increased accuracy.

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer avatar
MDOCEAN
fromIllinois, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been playing the Apex with steel shafts early in the summer. I improved with those so I thought I would try the Pros. There is a little difference in the fell and the look is definitely more that of a blade. Very happy with these. Solid feel, excellent sound of the ball off the club face. The ball really flies and stops on a dime. This is the first time I have achieved that kind of control.
What I likeLook and feel
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great iron for tempo

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
campijim
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have been using X-Forged irons for several seasons and find the Apex Pro a great addition to my bag. They seem a bit lighter in the grip and have really helped me to maintain a smooth tempo through the stroke.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irons!

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Jack Tors
fromNew York, NY, USA
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been playing Mizuno JPX-800 Pros and was looking to switch to heavier shafts when the club fitter suggested that I try the Apex Pros. It was love at first hit! My Mizunos were great but it was interesting that I hit the Apex Pros better than several different new Mizuno models. Mizuno irons are renown for their buttery feel with pure strikes and I think that of all the major manufacturers, only Callaway attains that standard.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Apex Pro Iron's

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Omi7000
fromCharlotte, NC, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Apex pro's has to be one of the best set of irons Callaway has ever produced. They have managed to combined, workability, feel, and distance. I went with DG Pro shafts, the KBS Tour V 110 are awesome as well, i just had better numbers with the DG Pro's s300 shafts.
Cons: My only complaint is the satin finish they did. I had read the reviews in advance, and did hear some complaints about this. I specifically bought an Ogio Chamber bag (great bag btw!) for it.. and i found them easy to scratch still.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Clubs! Don't Hesitate

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Zshin
fromSavannah, GA, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using a set of Nike clubs for a while and switched over to these. The feel is completely different and I thought I would swear by Nike the my entire golf career. I will never use another iron other than Callaway. These irons will be in my bag for years to come and whenever I do get a new set it will definitely be another set of Callaway's.
What I likeGreat Feel, high long flight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Irons, Horrible Finish

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Ago33
fromMilwaukee
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I came from a set of Mizuno players irons and these just flat out blow these out of the water. I have never had so many short birdie puts in my entire life. They have an incredibly tight dispersion, great distance (+5% distance off of my mizunos) and most misses are still on the green and out of trouble.
I am a high ball hitter and these keep my ball flight down.
The only negative is the finish on them. Its absolutely terrible. My clubs I played for half a season and look like they are 5 years old. They grooves are still good so I am confused. I heard others were having this issue as well.
These would be the perfect players if this was fixed
What I likeAccuracy, Distance, dispersion, short birdie putts
What I don't likeFinish, Durability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Irons!

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
DietRich09
fromFlorence, SC
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These clubs are awesome. I'm currently playing on the NGA TOUR with little success due to inaccurate iron shots. Since switching to these irons I have picked up an extra 5 yards and cut my dispersion down by 7 yards. For anyone in the market for great irons, don't pass these up!
What I likeConsistent
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great performance, terrible wear

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
drumcat
fromIrving, TX, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:13-20
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I must have received an early set. It's really shocking that after 6 months, the heads look 6 years old. I'm the first person to say that clubs are tools, not jewels, but the finish is poor at best.
They perform fine (for now), but at some point, the pinpoints of rust are going to get bigger, and the finish isn't protecting them in the way you would expect any other iron.
What I liketechnology, Soft, Performance
What I don't likeFinish, wear, Durability
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent irons

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Golfcat
fromOklahoma City, OK, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compared to my old irons I am hitting it farther, straighter and more accurately with less effort. The short irons are especially accurate and it appears the groove configuration is generating extremely consistent ball flight which is making distance control very easy.
Absolutely love them at this point.
What I likeEasy To Hit, extremely accurate with consistent distances.
What I don't likenone as of yet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feeling even on off centered impact.

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Golf Junkie
fromBoca Raton, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great feeling club head, Callaway your going to have to come up with something special to better this overall head design.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

designed for higher swing speeds?

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Ericb65
fromWisconsin
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Apex pros w/ PXI 5.5 shafts +1/2". I have the exact same specs in an older set of Razr X forged irons also w/ PXI 5.5 shafts +1/2", purchased from Callaway pre-owned. For me the Razr X set hits higher and carries farther with more spin. I suspect I do not have a high enough swing speed to elevate the ball with sufficient spin to hold greens with the Apex Pro mid irons. The Raxr X forged set hits high and lands soft allowing me to play target golf and hold the green (HX Diablo Tour Balls). The Apex Pros hit lower with less spin and run off the greens for me. I carry the 8i 140 and the 7i 150 on full shots with the Razr X forged; shots hop and stop on the greens. My carry with the Apex pros are a full club less but the ball runs longer due to lower trajectory and less spin. Callaway pre-owned took the Apex pros back no questions asked with full refund as they did not work for me. How great is that?
Note: I'm 65 with declining swing speed. Perhaps the Apex Pros would have worked better for me if I dropped down to PXI 5.0 shafts. I'm sticking with my Raxr X forged set w/ 5.5s and happy they still work for me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great club

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great feel and easy to hit and work. I picked up a full club by switching from my Titliest AP2 irons and the accuracy and ability to work the ball was fantastic.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best clubs I've ever hit

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hit every club thats a comparison to these like Titleist ap2 irons and the felt far superior. They feel and sound great. Shape any shot that is needed. I couldn't play any better with another set of irons.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Superb easy to hit players iron but does show signs of use very quickly.

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Mr T
fromSalisbury, UK
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Excellent value as I brought these Apex Pro irons in 'like new' condition but when they arrived they were all sealed up, not any of them had been opened and never been hit.
Brought them from the UK as even with the duties they worked out a lot cheaper plus they arrived within 48 hours !
Having owned a lot of Callaway irons I must say that the preformance of these are superb, long yet the most forgiving by far for a players iron. The only down side is that they do mark very easily & the finish seems to wear off which is a shame for such a top quality set of irons.
Beware of this but I think the preformance of these irons means you can live with the slightly poor finish.
Ordered with the Nippon Modus 3 130 stiff shafts which are as good as people say plus the irons also had the Golf Pride Multi Compound Red / Black grips fitted which made them even better value as in the UK an expensive upgrade.
Many thanks Callaway Preowned Golf as a great service provided.
What I likeForgiving
What I don't likeFinish
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>