Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons

Apex Pro Irons

A High Tech Forged Players Iron Conventional wisdom has been that you cant have extreme radical performance in a forged iron. Conventional wisdom couldnt be more wrong. Behold X HOT distance in a forged iron. Premium Forged Construction 1020 Carbon Steel forging engineered to deliver a soft and responsive feel that the best players in the world demand Tungsten Weighted Inserts Tungsten weighted inserts in the sole of the long irons make them incredibly easy to hit and deliver Tour type launch conditions High Performance Wide Grooves New high performance wide spaced groove is designed for more control and consistent spin out of a variety of playing conditions New KBS Tour V Shaft New premium shaft offering maximizes energy transfer for a smooth feel and faster ball speeds Delivers mid trajectory piercing flight Notes UST Recoil available through customs. Tungsten sole found only in 2-5 irons.
Overall rating:
4.796 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
89 out of 9198%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons
Review 1 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best feel of all irons on the market.

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMadison, WI
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great feel off the face, a soft click. Higher ball flight than my old set. Great lightweight KBS shaft gives you more feel with the club head. Larger gap between clubs than my old set - 15 yard gaps with the apex pros vs 10 yard gaps with my old set. Gave me progressively more distance on 6-4 irons with the 4-iron going 20yards farther than my previous. Shorter irons didn't gain any distance but feel/ball flight improved dramatically.
Great overall irons with a great feel.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Sorry Titleist

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer avatar
mikimi10
fromBoise, ID, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought I would never part with my 712 combo set (#4 AP2, 5-6 CB, 7-P MB) with C-Taper shafts, but after spending a couple of hours in the shop on the monitor then 4 times on the course I am officially a "Callaway Convert". The main factors that made me want to switch was the increased distance, repeatable distance control and ease of workability. I thought I was just getting old and settled for the distance that my Titleist's gave me but after playing with the Apex Pro with the KBS Tour V's I felt like a young guy again. I did just turn 55 but I'm punching my 5 iron out to 200 yards again without having to grunt. With my Titleist CB712, I was content with 185 and it was a struggle to reproduce that time after time. I don't get to practice as much as I did in the past but even though it was only the 3rd through 7th time on the course I dropped an average of 4.5 shots/round. Approach shots were dead on once I established distance for my irons. I became so excited to hit a mid to short iron because of the confidence these new Apex irons instilled in me. Also , I wasn't afraid to hit a long iron either of the turf or from a tee on a long par-3. In fact, I actually put my 910 hybrids away and now I play the 3 and 4 Apex irons because the dispersion and distance control is better than with the hybrids. At least I still have my 3 Vokey SM5's in my bag that will never leave (at least not until the SM6's comes out). Also if your going to compare them to the AP2's, don't, it's a waste of time. The Apex Pro has it beat in all categories except for finish durability. On the monitor the AP2's were at least 10 to 12 yards shorter across the board and didn't even feel anywhere as soft and sweet as the Apex Pro's. I wanted so badly for the AP2 714's to work for me because I love Titleist. But like I said, I will always have my Vokey's and my Pro V1X's in my bag. I am a 6 handicapper and hopefully I can improve on that now. If you try them I'm pretty sure you'll like them. As for me, I love them and can't wait to play my next round. Tomorrow just does't come fast enough.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great forged feel

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer avatar
parshooter72
fromcelina, tn.
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
went from apex to apex pro with no problem for a mid handicapper I am impressed
What I likefeel
What I don't likeproject x shaft a bit heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Vision 54
fromPortland, OR, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As long as I've been playing golf, I've considered myself a purest. I learned how to play golf with blades and have been playing with blades irons for 37 years. My current iron set, Mizuno MP33 which I've had for 13 years is an excellent set. It's served me well and will continue to do so. Excellent feel, quality, workable, and aesthetically beautiful set. The past 3 years, I've been on a search to find a set that will join the ranks of my MP's. I've looked at Titleist, Ping, Taylor Made, Callaway, Cleveland and of course Mizuno. After testing and waiting and testing waiting, I finally pulled the trigger and decided to buy my very first set of Callaway ever. These Apex Pro's with KBS Tour V shaft are awesome. Everything that I love about my Mizuno, the Apex Pro offered and then some. Very forgiving on miss hits, very soft feel and workable. The trajectory and spin are ideal and seem controlled. I've gained approximately 22 yards per club and with a very tight dispersion pattern.
I thought I'd never find an iron set that is as good as my Mizuno MP's, but I was blown away. Because I love these irons so much, I'm actually thinking about buying a second set as a backup.
Way to go Callaway!
What I likeaesthetically pleasing!, awesome feel!, high performance
What I don't likenot too crazy about the finish
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Wedge

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Bo-v
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Club looked great on arrival. Looks great on setup. The shaft in the club is still suspect. Not as much feel as I like.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great fee

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Justin
Accuracy 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love them. glad that I made this purchase. would recommend it everyone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks like a blade, feels like butter

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Rustyspkes
fromGoodyear, AZ, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the 4-GW w/recoil 110 s flex shafts. Love them; no loss of feedback, feel or distance. Almost too good to be true!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible feel and forgiveness

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Andy Chang
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Monthly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aesthetically pleasing and undoubtedly the best iron in my bag.
What I likeform and function
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent club for ball strikers

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
John
fromPocatello
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a 9 handicap but my strong point is my short game. These irons have excellent playability and you can work the ball well. They are a true muscle back and don't have a lot of a forgiveness. Provided you hit the clubs consistently then you will love them, BUT if you do not strike the ball consistently in the middle you may want to look at other options.
What I likeworkability and a very clean look
What I don't likeneed to strike the ball consistently square
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of the best iron sets I've had

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
WDJr
fromCartersville, GA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apex Pro feels a bit harder than most forged irons I've played but I know where I hit the face. And mishits still get good distance
Overall distance has picked up about half a club. Love the new KBS V shafts. Solid with good accuracy.
What I don't likeirons tad bit pricey & still had, to pay for "custom" grips
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Players irons for midhandicappers - wow!

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Golfmaster
fromDelray Beach, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful irons that, contrary to expectations are forgiving and have allowed this aging 12 handicap to shape shots and get the great feel of a well struck irons with a steel shaft. Wow!!
What I likeBeautiful clubs, Forgiving, Great Feel
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST IRONS AND EVER

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Aidan Devlin
fromMundelien Illinois
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These irons are amazing. I got fitted three time and every single time they recommended these irons. They feel so great I the club
My opinion of the top 5 irons of 2015
5) Nike Vapor family
4) Taylormade RSI TP
3) Mizunos 54
2) Titlest cb and mb
1) Callaway Apex Pro
What I likeDistance, Great Feel, Accuracy
What I don't likeDurability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Irons!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
RLC
fromNewton, NC
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got them with Recoil Graphite, easy on elbows and shoulders but retain that smooth forged club feel.. Customized to 2 up spec, delivered as requested. Could not be more pleased, this set replaces my Razr Xtours with PX 6.0 which have been great irons...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great looks great feel pure ball flight cannot get any better than that

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
johnny m
fromToronto, ON, Canada
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
its winter up here cannot play on turf till feb 1 in florida but in the simulator the irons feel great look great and great ball flight may be the best irons I have ever owned
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great irons

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Al
fromHeath, texas
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these irons in almost all ways. Custom fit at Cool Clubs, the irons have been the best set of irons I have owned for accuracy, feel and distance control. Only issue is finish. They show wear and use faster than most.
What I likeSolid
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Cdub
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great set of irons!!! Accurate, forgiving, and long!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Apex Pro irons with the Recoil shafts give an incredibly soft feel!

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Reitred Florida Golfer
fromFort Myers, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have only played a few rounds with the Apex Pro irons with the Recoil stiff shafts (F4). The iron and shaft combination give an incredibly soft feel. I am working on some swing changes personally, so I cannot give a reliable review of any distance expectations. They seem like they may be a little short, but that could change as my swing changes.
What I likeincredibly soft
What I don't likepossibly a little short
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great look, easy to work

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Whitey
fromWrightsville, PA 17368, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these clubs after a friend had purchased the Apex Irons. Was sold on the pro's at demo day. The ball jumps off these irons. Had to adjust as center contact added 10 to 12 yards to the distances. Offcenter hits stayed closer to line with distance being equal to previous yardages.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feel of forged with a litle help

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
teknodoc
fromWarnr Robins, Georgia
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have played blades, (Mizuno) and moved to Callaway X-forged 2007 models and have never found anything that I liked as well until now. These feel like they glide through the ball, you get feedback on where it's hit, and a little help on a mishit. For me the perfect combination. After trying, virtually everything, and buying with my own money 4 other game improvement sets, these are better than all of them - Titleist AP1, Taylormade Burner 2.0, Adams CB3 Forged and Callaway X2Hot Pro.
Bottom Line:
These are the best clubs I have hit in years. Get them and learn to be a better ball striker.
What I likesuper feel, Great feedback, a little help on off center hits, Look Great
What I don't likenone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Tallboy
fromKentucky
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best feeling irons(with consistent accuracy)
Of any irons used in last 20 years.
What I likefeel, Consistent, look at setup
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>