Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons

Apex Pro Irons

A High Tech Forged Players Iron Conventional wisdom has been that you cant have extreme radical performance in a forged iron. Conventional wisdom couldnt be more wrong. Behold X HOT distance in a forged iron. Premium Forged Construction 1020 Carbon Steel forging engineered to deliver a soft and responsive feel that the best players in the world demand Tungsten Weighted Inserts Tungsten weighted inserts in the sole of the long irons make them incredibly easy to hit and deliver Tour type launch conditions High Performance Wide Grooves New high performance wide spaced groove is designed for more control and consistent spin out of a variety of playing conditions New KBS Tour V Shaft New premium shaft offering maximizes energy transfer for a smooth feel and faster ball speeds Delivers mid trajectory piercing flight Notes UST Recoil available through customs. Tungsten sole found only in 2-5 irons.
Overall rating:
4.763 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 114 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
105 out of 10996%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Apex Pro Irons
Review 1 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best irons period

PostedJune 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Ricky754
fromRegina, SK, Canada
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best irons I've played feel, distance is unreal, consistency is second to none. Just can't say enough good things on these irons.
Great job Callaway!
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Hogan apex upgrade

PostedJune 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Doc c
fromSouthbury, ct
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific upgrade for the old Hogan Apex irons. More forgiving with little loss of feel. Able to play a variety of shots as well or better than the old version, though some need adjusting. Distance control is great, with on center hits as sweet as ever. Less sting in the off center, but plenty of feedback.
What I likeforgiveness with feel
What I don't likeslightly less feedback
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Irons

PostedJune 26, 2015
Customer avatar
pdakc
fromOverland Park, KS
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These irons rival the soft feel of a forged Mizuno, yet feature the longest distance for a players iron I've ever encountered. The stock shaft options are incredible, and if I had one complaint, it would be that the finish on the irons is less than stellar. AFter two rounds, the faces of the irons look like they've seen a war zone. Small price to pay i guess, but not when you're paying $1200+
What I likefeel, Distance
What I don't likePrice, Finish wears quickly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Apex Pro's feel great in my hands. They are very accurate and my distance is incredible. The only knock on the clubs is that they mark easy .

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
TheBamaWeave
fromTuscaloosa, Alabama
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apex Pro's feel great in my hands. They are very accurate and my distance is incredible. The only knock on the clubs is that they mark easy and I had to hunt down some good iron covers. I would recommend these clubs to anyone! My scores are steady falling because I'm throwing darts with these clubs!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product hits long

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Lardog
fromCalifornia, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:21-28
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the second time I used this club it his long and stright.
What I likeGreat Feel
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feel, soft

PostedJune 17, 2015
Customer avatar
63lem
fromChesapeake, VA, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lower ball flight, not quite as long as Apex and some others.
What I likeSoft Feel, Lower ball flight
What I don't likenot as long as some
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Affordable quality equipment!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Stoneman
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great clubs!!! I added distance and forgiveness. Also great deal using callaway preowned hard to beat a warrenty on quality used clubs they are like new.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome irons

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Howard
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gained an average of 10-12 yards. Very consistent and much easier to hit than my old forged Macgregor irons. Only drawback is that long irons feel a little more head heavy than I am use to or prefer. May eventual switch longer irons to normal Apex. Otherwise they are great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This club feels better than a hybrid

PostedMay 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an 8 handicap and had trouble hitting a hybrid with consistency. This iron gives me the ability and confidence to hit it off the deck as well as on the tee
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Game changer for me

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Roy9
fromBoston, MA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently purchased the Apex Pro's 4 through PW, and the regular Apex for my 3 iron (I like hitting long irons on tight fairways). I had been playing Hogan Apex Pro's forever, and every time I purchased a new set of irons, I ended up returning them...mostly because I found it difficult to control distances with the newer technology - even though I knew I was sacrificing forgiveness. But the Apex Pro's are perfect for me. Distance control is superb, and forgiveness is incredible (at least, compared to my old Hogans!). You know when you make a bad swing (feedback is there), but the result is not that penal...so it keeps you in the hole. I have been a 4 - 5 index for a long time, and felt I had plateaued, but 1 month after putting the Apex Pro's in the bag I shot my first 2 under par rounds of my life, and my index is now in the 2 - 3 range. Can't say enough about these clubs.
The ONLY negative is that the elastomer insert on my 9-iron popped out somehow (maybe just rattling around in my bag). Fortunately, I found the insert, and was able to put it back with a dab of crazy glue. Hasn't been any issue since.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've played professional level golf for 65 years and these are FAR and AWAY the BEST (in every way) irons (w/ reflex graph) I've ever played !!!!!!!

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
g
fromcanton texas
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will use these same irons until I am no longer able to play anymore, which means I will have died....
What I likeeverything
What I don't likeZero cons
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looks and explosive distance

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Joey64
fromConcord Virginia
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Longest irons I have ever hit. I am least 10 to 15 yards longer than my previous set. Hardest thing now is learning my distances over again. The ball seems to jump off the club face. Anyone looking fr soft feel off the face and explosive distance get these irons. I ha no intentions of switching
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the the best Irons I have played.

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Callaplay
fromSweden
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally I got back my confidence and starting to hitting Greens again!. These Irons are like Arrows. Boring flight with consistent length. The KBS Tour V 110 S stock shaft fits me as a Glove. Great balance between weight and swing speed increase. Surprisingly forgiving for the category. Just order an additional 50 degree Gap Wedge...
My Mizuno MP-52 feels softer but are now at the bench.
Good work Callaway!
What I likeconsistent length, forgiving fore the category
What I don't likesome time flyers from the ruff, durability. finish wear of fast
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best irons I ever hit.

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best irons in terms of look and feel I ever hit. I am a low handicap golfer and I have added 10 yards to each iron with these. The only downside is the nick and wear quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best look and feel of any players Iron

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Brian13
fromBedford,TX
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apex Pros have completely changed my game I was able to take a hybrid out of my bag since the 4 iron gave me the same distance, flight and a better feel. I'm not 100% sure if they play better on miss hits or if I'm actually hitting better shots but these irons have given me a new world of confidence with my game! I can say anyone not playing these beauties are missing out on a better game
What I likefeel, Distance
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Most disappointing Callaway product I have purchased

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
OleHack
fromLake Arrowhead, CA, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:21-28
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
By way of disclosure I am currently a 22 handicap recovering from some physical set backs. A once upon a time a single digit. For the majority of my golfing career I used forged blades. Was using Callaway X-Hot irons and loved them except had trouble shaping the ball. Saw the Apex Pro irons as the best of both worlds, control, feel and distance. The first disappointment was the feel. Mind you my pure hits are rare now a days but when they did occur felt nothing like a forged blade. The impact felt dead? To be 100% accurate the X Hots felt closer to a forged blade hit than these did. The second disappointment was the length. They were much shorter than the X-Hots and shorter than my blades. The latter really surprised especially since these were 1/2" longer. Lastly when I attempted to shape the ball, they were no better than the X Hots. On the good side it is a totally great looking club, extremely well made.
What I likeGreat Looking, Well made
What I don't likedid not feel like a blade, lacked the distance of an x-hot, could not shape the ball as hoped for
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer avatar
tedd3
fromFenton
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just bought a set with 95 gram recoil, regular flex shafts for my 18 year old daughter (college player / 2 hndcp ). Track man fitted, 13 yrs longer with 7 iron. Smoked field, first day out!
What I don't like$60 up charge for shafts., not available in 95 gram stiff shafts.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very very happy

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Austin
fromSalt lake city
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a 9 handicap and for past 3 years have been playing razor x tours (great irons) but like so many of us get to the point that most golfers get to am I ready for big boy clubs? I'm not gonna lie these clubs are a different world out there as far as forgiveness but learning slowly how to hit the apex pros correctly as been unreal! I love these irons the confidence I have got week to week with these irons is sky high! If your game has got to that point. When your ready take these irons on your journey
What I likeaccurate confidence
What I don't likea lil disappointed in finish wear and tear
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good look, good results throughout the lofts

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer avatar
golfmaster
fromSouth Florida
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:13-20
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:6 months
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful clubs, good weight, easy setup and your off (not offline). 5 iron - A wedge are more forgiving than most players irons yet still allow spin control and shot shaping. I'm thinking of adding the 3 and 4 irons to my bag.
What I likeBeautiful clubs
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Apex Pro Irons
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A great club - but not for me...

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Dennis
fromWest Palm Beach, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Accuracy 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Feel 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Distance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sorry for my personal bias. My expectations of the particular Apex iron were a little higher than realized.
The club didn't seem to have the heft or 'substance' I was looking for. It struck me as particularly light compared to what I'm used to.
Sorry...I returned it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>