Customer reviews for X2 Hot Irons

X2 Hot Irons

More Forgiveness More Ball Speed More Distance. Youll Adjust Deep Central Undercut The new Deep Central Undercut increases the rate the face flexes and rebounds. So it increases ball speeds to make these irons even longer. And golfers seem to like that. Stabilizing Arch The exceptional sound and feel at high ball speeds come from a stabilizing arch that reinforces the face. You probably wouldnt expect to get those things in a distance iron but our RD Team outdid themselves. Again. Perimeter Weighting If you like higher launch angles more distance stopping power on the greens and a bigger sweet spot we developed the perimeter weighting with you in mind. What can we say we like to give you what you want. Lightweight Shaft Options Lightweight Speed Step 85 Steel shaft available in regular and stiff flexes. New lightweight Callaway Ultralite graphite shaft More feel and control while increasing launch angles.
Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 153 reviews
5 Stars
122
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
141 out of 15193%customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for X2 Hot Irons
Review 1 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The club has nice features.

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
jim23
fromAurora, CO, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am getting more distance and height than my old club. I like the looks of the club.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A nice lighter iron especially for a senior golfer.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
McKenzie
fromPalm Beach Gardens Florida and Bethesda, MD
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Monthly
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I already have the x2 Hot Woods and find them easy to hit
with good distance and accuracy. This is also true for the X2 Hot irons. With the graphite shaft, this is an excellent club for senior golfers.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great clubs

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
JC
fromSanta Barbara, Ca
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are awesome clubs. Great distance, with good bal flight. They are clubs for lower handicaps and someone that wants a workable club that has good forgivness. I would suggest them for intermediate to advanced players.
What I likeGreat Distance, Great Feel, workable ball flight
What I don't likenot available as new anymore, Not for beginners
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent addition to complete my set.

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
DJ
fromSan Antonio
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took longer to get the club than advertised but worth the wait.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

80 year old

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Joe
fromHarlingen, TX, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased a complete slet of X2 Hot irons and woods and am very pleased with the feel, distance and control provided by the clubs. They have improved my attitude toward the game of golf and my scoring. I look forward to being in the 70s scoring again with these new clubs.
What I likeExceptional Feel, improved trajectory, more spin on the green
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The X2Hot Irons have great feel

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Ron
fromAustralia
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have recently changed from graphite irons to Callaway X2 Hot Irons with regular steel shafts. I am hitting my mid and long irons an additional 10-15 meters with consistent accuracy, and have taken 2 shots off my handicap in three months.
The short irons have great feel and touch around the greens.
What I likegreat feel with these clubsron
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The Chrome Finish Fell off my clubs.

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Cheri55
fromGilroy, CA 95020, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:6 months
Usage frequency:Monthly
Accuracy 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Distance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am a 59 year old woman. I play about 6 or 7 times a year. My last set of clubs had a brushed metal finish that lasted for 25 years and still looked good, but the weight of the steel shafts became too heavy for me to swing as I aged. I purchased the DX2 Hot irons with graphite shafts. I found the lighter more flexible club was much easier on my body and love that feature.
Unfortunately the DX2 Hot chrome scratched off from day one at the driving range. When I first returned to the practice mat and put clubs back into my bag I noticed a little plastic green mat blade stuck between the chrome and the metal of the club. Mind you, I am not a golfer, I play a little golf but at that time I had a couple social events I wanted to attend where I planned to play a round and so I kept the clubs and played those rounds with my friends.
Later, I contacted Calaway who told me that I had waited too long to return my clubs (remember golf is not that important to me) but for customer service purposes they would stand behind their product. They sent me a new set of chrome plated DX2 irons, yea! What was disturbing was they said that their quality department said my DX2 set was "well worn." So, if they are "well worn" by an old woman after a couple rounds, players look out. And that also means I dont trust their quality department. Maybe they need a durometer or to put an alloy between the chrome and the steel so it wont easily come off?
Of note, my ratings of average accuracy, feel and distance may improve as I actually use this set of clubs. Again, I was use to my old set after 25 years and could make shots when needed, but the lighter feel changed my tempo and the inertia of the club hitting the ball so my distances are off, but hopefully that will improve as I get use to the set.
Thank you Calaway Golf for standing behind your product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The S wedge handles very well

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I enjoy playing with this club, and the forgiveness it has
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Improved my distance by at least 10 yards at each club.....

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
duesouth511
fromNorthwest Florida
Level of expertise:Beginner
Player handicap:21-28
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No other way to go but with Callaway Pre-Owned. These clubs looked like new and had never been used. Several in the set actually still had original packaging and pricing on them. Great styling and look to them.
What I likeDistance, Upgrade, Game improvement
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just learning

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Michael1947
Level of expertise:Beginner
Player handicap:29-40
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
U an just learning to play, but these seem to be very forgiving, and they feel right in my hands.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best set of irons

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Jake 57
fromOdessa, TX, USA
Level of expertise:Beginner
Player handicap:21-28
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tested many othe sets and brands of clubs before I chose this one. This is by far the best feel for the ball than all that I have hit. I do have to club down one for this set. The extra distance that I get out of each club is amazing. It will take some time on the range to figure what each club can do. The clubs are more accurate.
Callaway shipping was faster than was estimated. Shipping was estimated at two weeks. The set was on my door step in three days. Wow!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Graphite shafts too light

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Arizona Tom
fromScottsdale, AZ, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Distance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The new graphite shafts are too light.
Feel is gone.
I like the club head and changing to steel
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great glubs at a great price

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Catcher16
fromOverland Park, KS, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love them great clubs at a great price I will be a customer for life.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clubs look new and feel great

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Jorge
fromMiami, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clubs feel good and add distance. Clubs are in excellent condition.
What I likeGreat Distance, look like new
What I don't likenone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
golf at the beach
fromNorth Myrtle Beach, SC
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:6-12
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The accuracy is the main thing. These irons have so much forgiveness that they even seem to bring shots back on line. It took just a little time to get used to but now have lowered my score
What I likemaximum forgiveness, Additional Distance
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too light compared to my previous call away irons

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Mylesvs
fromClearwater, FL, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:13-20
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Feel 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I am able to make pure contact I get more
distance with these irons. My old Callaway irons
seem heavier in the head. I am not able to get
solid hits with these clubs, and am looking to return
or sell them.
What I likeGood Distance
What I don't likeToo light
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really fly high

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Mikey
fromWoodbridge virginia
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:6-12
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these a few weeks ago. Graphite shafts and just got a chance to play them. They really launch the ball very high and the short irons drop and stop on the greens. No need for a high spin ball to hold green. Once I got the distances I was hitting greens like I haven't in a long time. Was actually having fun playing golf.
What I likehigh straight flight, a club longer
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

X2 Hot Irons

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Rich
fromLaGrange Park, IL
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great job Callaway Pre-owned! My new irons arrived in a timely fashion, and were spotless, never played.
The irons perform great with accuracy, feel and fit great! I was lucky to find my length (+2") lie angle (+2) and stiff when selecting! BOOM! I tell everyone about Callaway Pre-Owned!
What I likefeel, Accuracy, BALANCE
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the cost

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Player70
fromBlue Springs, MO, USA
Level of expertise:Advanced
Player handicap:0-5
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Accuracy 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The club is everything that it advertised to be. It also was in better condition than advertised. Very fast delivery. The thing about under promising and over producing in this case was true. Callaway preowned is a first class operation in all respects.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for X2 Hot Irons
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Skip these. They are not what I expected v.s. the Callaway X Hot set. Stick with X Hot or try the new Big Berthas. Get fit before you buy.

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Litlerny
fromLeesburg, FL
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Player handicap:13-20
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
Accuracy 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Distance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I already had the Callaway X2 Hot driver...long, but, too unforgiving. Lesson 1: forget distance and focus on dispersion and consistency.
I recently "upgraded" from Callaway X-Hot to Callaway X2 Hot for my wedges, irons, hybrids, and fairway woods, and quite frankly, wish I had kept my old set. For me, these clubs have been a giant step backward. They are long, but no longer than the X Hots, and across the board they are not nearly as forgiving as the X Hots. You will pay a big price for mishits. Also, I downgraded my score for quality because on my 3rd trip out, the head snapped off the shaft right at the hosel on a routine approach shot with my 8 iron.
I know I'm not supposed to mention customer service in this review, but I have to really praise Callaway on that. To Callaway Preowned's credit, they excel in customer service. They had a replacement club at my door in 3 business days and included a postage-paid label to return the broken club to them. I have always had great service from them, and this is part of what keeps me coming back to Callaway.
Summary: Pass on the X2 Hot series and go for the "old" X Hot's or "new" Big Bertha line of irons, hybrids, and FW woods. Lesson 2: Get fit before you buy.
What I likeDistance, callaway preowned customer service, price after trade-in on callaway preowned
What I don't likeaccuracy, Quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>